Hiroshima University


  • Hiroshima University was founded in 1949 under the National School Establishment law when Japan reformed its education system.
  • In general, one national university was established in each prefecture, and the new Hiroshima University brought together the pre-war higher educational institutions in Hiroshima Prefecture.
  • The university’s faculties were located across Hiroshima Prefecture, but by 1995 nine faculties had moved to the new campus in Hiroshima City.
  • Today the university is a cluster of education and research facilities, with eleven faculties, twelve graduate schools, a research institute, a university hospital and eleven affiliated schools.


Hiroshima University, Hiroshima, Naka Ward, Higashisendamachi, Japan