Julius Maximilian University Würzburg, Germany


  • The roots of the Julius Maximilian University of Würzburg (known as University of Würzburg) can be traced back to 1402. In that time the university was one of six institutions of higher learning to be founded in the German-speaking regions of Europe. 
  • The University has grown over six centuries to offer an extensive choice of subjects which include the classic four- Medicine, Theology, Philosophy, and the four pillars- the humanities, the law and economics, life sciences and technology.
  • A total of 14 Nobel Laureates have researched and taught in Würzburg including Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen who discovered X-rays at Würzburg in 1895.


Sanderring 2, 97070 , University of Würzburg