University of Notre Dame


  • The University of Notre Dame was founded in 1842 by French Reverend Edward Sorin and seven companions. The University was named after their ‘lady of the lake’.
  • Early Notre Dame was a university in name only. It encompassed religious novitiates, preparatory and grade schools and a manual labour school, but its classical collegiate curriculum never attracted more than a dozen students a year in the early decades.
  • Beginning in the 1930s the University was strengthened by an influx of distinguished European scholars fleeing the Nazis, and, drawing on their expertise, Father (later Cardinal) John A. O'Hara, C.S.C., significantly expanded the graduate school to include programmes in biology, physics, philosophy and mathematics.
  • Rev. John I. Jenkins, C.S.C., became the University’s 17th president on 1 July 2005. His presidency to date has focused on enhancing the University’s research activity while maintaining excellence in undergraduate education and serving the Catholic Church.
  • Today, as a Catholic university, one of its distinctive goals is to provide a forum where, through free inquiry and open discussion, the various lines of Catholic thought may intersect with all the forms of knowledge found in the arts, sciences, professions, and every other area of human scholarship and creativity.


112 N Notre Dame Ave, South Bend, IN 46556, United States